*Daily Journal* – July 6, 2011, Live Interview via Facebook Chat, with Ressa Empbra, Author of

Caught in the Dragon Cove:

Interviewer: Mellenee: 

I’m here to visit with the Author, herself, who’s agreed to do an interview:

Welcome Ressa.

Ressa Empbra:
Hi, Mell. And thank you for doing this interview.

Mellenee:
Not a problem, I’m glad to be doing this.

Ressa Empbra:
Me, too!

Mellenee:
So, Ressa, would you like to tell us a bit about your book?

Ressa Empbra:
Certainly. Where would you like to start?

Mellenee:
Well, start off with the fact that you’ve done everything backwards.

Ressa Empbra:
*Laughing* How do you mean?

Mellenee:
Well, you started off with your chapters, before your prologue, or introductions. Why is that?

Ressa Empbra:
Ah, I think I get what you mean. Well, it’s kinda strange, I’ll admit, but for some reason when I write a novel, I’m usually a good ways into it before the prologue actually comes to me. I was awake reading another author’s novel 1 night, at about 4-am, when inspiration hit! All I had was my BlackBerry, so I used the ‘notes’ feature, and entered almost 5,000 words, which ended up being my prologue. I wasn’t even thinking about my novel at the time, but when it hits, ya gotta run with it…

Mellenee:
Well, thank you God for your BlackBerry.

Ressa Empbra:
Amen sister! *laughs*

Mellenee:
And yes when ideas hit, you gotta run with them.

Ressa Empbra:
Absolutely.

Mellenee:
So, Ressa tell me a little bit about your protagonist, and what made you choose her and her background.

Ressa Empbra:
You’re speaking of Iax?

Mellenee:
Yes, I am.

Ressa Empbra:
Every time I start to write, I truly have no idea of what’s going to come out. I just start
typing, and it’s like watching a movie playing in my head, I don’t know from one word to the next what’s going to happen. After I get really rolling, obviously things start coming together and I get more of a base to create a story-line.

Iax, to me, is kind of a representation of so many women in the world these days. Whether it’s how someone actually is, how they want people to perceive them, or simply how one would love to be. Personally, I would love to be more like her. She’s tough, smart, strong, doesn’t take any crap from anyone, and just in general, fun to be around…

Mellenee:
She sounds like a very interesting woman, to say the least.

Ressa Empbra:
Yes, to say the least…

Mellenee:
So, now I’ve also read in your book about the girl called Gemma. She is a traveling companion.

Ressa Empbra:
Yes, LOVE Gemma! She doesn’t even know some of the most important things about herself, yet, but on this particular journey, she finds out some of them. She’s more of an anomaly; as Iax can travel, or rather, ‘appear’ in different Realms and Dimensions, Gemma just always happens to be there to help guide her through whatever job she’s there to do. She’s also saved Iax’s life several times, and the pair have become pretty close friends. Yes, she’s kind of a space-case, but extremely wise and knows all the things Iax doesn’t, about where they are and how to get the jobs done.

Mellenee:
Yes, so I’ve read. Gemma seems to be pretty lost in her own thoughts sometimes. Also, to quote Iax from your book:

“You’re on the money honey. Men pull some pretty lame shit to get women. I don’t know what the hell they’re thinking, either. If some jack-fuck decided he wanted me, and I was already taken, he wouldn’t stand a chance. What a dick-move, I can’t stand shit like that. Stealing me would only serve to piss me off, not to mention my own man… if I had one.”

What do you think men who read your book will have to say or think, about that passage?

Ressa Empbra:
If men do read it, like actually read the whole novel, and I hope they do, I think they’ll
be fine. But, initially, I think they’ll see that she has trust issues, amongst others. There are many things not revealed in the first couple chapters, and many more that haven’t even been put into print, yet. I feel it’s similar to many novels out there; men who don’t trust women; women who don’t trust men, then ‘things’ happen and feelings can change. *shrugs*

Mellenee:
Yes, I can see where this comes from. So, tell me how did you think of the landscape?

Ressa Empbra:
I think men and women alike have mixed feelings when it comes to the opposite sex, some deal well, others, not so much. Sometimes it takes huge events to change that. As for the landscaping; again, I just saw it in my head. I love greenery, bright colors and all of that, so it was sort of easy.

Mellenee:
Did you get inspiration for other books, maybe books that you would tell others to read? Also, how many chapters are you really planning on doing, and is this going to be a series?

Ressa Empbra:
Yes, I’ve already written another novel before this one. I’m still in the editing process,
but hopefully it won’t take much longer to get into the publishing part. As far as this novel, I don’t know exactly how many chapters it’ll end up being. At this point, I can guess that it’ll be at least 25-30. And yes, this is the first in the series.

Mellenee:
Well then, for your readers, I’m sure that is great to hear. I’ll be looking forward to reading more of your works. I personally enjoyed this.

Ressa Empbra;
Thank you. I’m looking forward to writing more, and I really hope people do enjoy my works. I’ve enjoyed it, too!

Mellenee:
But let me ask you this: how long have you been in love with Dragons?

Ressa Empbra:
*Laughing* I’ve always loved Dragons. Not sure why, but they’re fascinating to me. So mysterious and beautiful… What’s not to love? *smiles*

Mellenee:
Yes, that is true, many fantasies have Dragons in them.

Ressa Empbra:
Yes, and that’s what I meant, ‘fantasy’ Dragons. I’ve seen pictures/drawing of some that are utterly terrifying, lol!

Mellenee:
So, what is in the works for your next novel? What other novels are you thinking about writing? Maybe some Romance, or Drama, or even Darker Fantasy?

Ressa Empbra:
I plan to do the second in this Dragon series. I’m still on the fence over who’ll be the main character. But, I can say, it’ll either be Gemma, or a character who’s only in a small portion of this novel named Jolsynn.

My other novel that I’m still editing; The Krascheam Chronicles: Guided, (read the prologue and first chapter at the link), is actually pretty dramatic, a little darker, definitely hard to describe, there’s a lot to it. But, yes, I plan to do all of those. In time.

Mellenee:
Well, I’m looking forward to this.

Ressa Empbra:
Thank you, so am I.

Mellenee:
Then, I will keep everyone up to date on your latest works, when they come out. Your readers, as well as myself, are sure to anticipate their arrival.

Ressa Empbra:
I appreciate that. A self-publishing author can use all the help she can get…

Mellenee:
Is there anything else you’d like to add before we wrap this up?

Ressa Empbra:
Yes, and thanks for asking. To even contemplate just how deep and mysterious Gemma really is, just check out her full name. It should give everyone a small idea of how great a story I can write on just her: Leua-Menarius-Gemmall-Naustaurial-Hannah. That’s not even in this novel, just a sneak-peek for Gemma’s story… *winks*

Mellenee:
Thank you for sharing that tidbit with us, Ressa. It is a very nice, very long name .

Ressa Empbra:
The naming of characters is one of my favorite parts. *Laughs* You’re welcome, and yes, it is quite long. Just as ‘different’ as she is…

Mellenee:
Well, being unique is good, makes you stand out.

Ressa Empbra:
I love unique. I pretty much base all of my works on unique. *smiles*

Also, I would love to urge everyone to check out my group page, and read what I’ve posted there. Passing the word around would also be greatly appreciated. I’m so excited to get it done and published, and I only hope everyone likes it!

Mellenee:
Well, thank you for joining with us today. That was Ressa Empbra, Author of Caught in the Dragon Cove.

Ressa Empbra:
Thank you for doing this interview. I am forever grateful and appreciate your time!

Mellenee:
Again, not a problem Ressa, I’m glad to have you with us.

Ressa Empbra:
Wonderful! No problem. And, you conduct a great interview!

 

Everyone, please check out my blog and my FB Group Page below!!

https://ressaempbra.wordpress.com/

http://www.facebook.com/groups/206315256073749

THANK YOU!!!!

